Pages

Thursday, October 1, 2015

GHBT- 'Enchanted Revenge' by Theresa M. Jones Tour- Guest Post & Giveaway


Enchanted Revenge
Empyrean Chronicles # 1
By- Theresa M. Jones
Genre- YA Fantasy

When seventeen year old Lily finds her parents brutally murdered, leaving her broken and alone, she is determined to bring justice to the fairies responsible. Her quest leads her to infiltrate The Empyrean, the land of the Fae where terrifying creatures lurk in every shadow. But with a political rebellion mounting, bloody battles and foreign enemies stand in her way. Alec, a mysterious and secretive fairy, gradually becomes her guide and dear friend in the unfamiliar world, and restores her faith in love.

Disturbing secrets about her parent’s true identity are revealed, causing her to be more involved with the devastating fairy war than she can afford. Her vengeful mission becomes compromised and her growing romance with Alec wavers. She must conquer her fear of the unknown, ignore her grief, and overcome her growing list of enemies if she is to succeed in avenging her parents’ death. Or ever make it out alive.

Enchanted Revenge will appeal to fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Julie Kagawa.

 

Book 2, Enticing Violence, will be available on November 2nd, you can pre-order your copy now!


And here is a Guest Post from Theresa M. Jones on her writing process- 

To be honest, I don't think I really have a writing process. Not a specific one anyways.
I’m a mom, have to small children. I work full time as a computer technician. I’m a wife. I have so many things to do, that when I write, I just write.

I write on my lunch breaks. I write during nap time on the weekends. I write at night, if my husband doesn't mind not having a wife for a while. I dont have the opportunity to write often, so I never have the chance to really have a writing process.

But whatever kind of process I do have, it goes something like this:

1 An idea.
My ideas often come from dreams. Or random, errant thoughts that form into something more.
Sometimes its a basic story line- like, I want to write a book about a young girl who has to deal with the possibility of death. Or, like for Enchanted Revenge, it starts with the character that has to face something traumatizing, and then has to figure out a way to keep living afterwards.


I have a folder with about 10 more ideas that I've come up with, that I haven't even started writing yet.

2- A Story.
When one of my ideas really sticks out to me, I jot down some semblance of a story. Not really an outline. But a few sentences about the story.
Example: For Enchanted Revenge, I knew it would be Lily’s story. So I wrote down the beginning, that her parents were going to die, and that their death would be her driving force, her motivation. I wrote a little bit about Alec, and that he would be her guide, and friend, and later something more.

I decided it would be about fairies, So I wrote a TINY bit about how she would go to the Empyrean, and seek out vengeance. And, I wrote down a general ending.

3- Write it.
Once I have the basic storyline, I start writing. I write in a very linear fashion. I know some authors write whatever scenes they feel like writing in the moment, and then move them where they fit in the story. But not me. I write from beginning to end.

When I write, I almost always listen to music. I like listening to electronic/dubstep music, or that Pandora station: classical goes pop. Or bands like Muse. Basically, something with awesome music, but not something that will make me want to dance or sing.
Coffee is a must.


4- Revise/Edit.
This process takes forever. You re-read everything several times, changing words and sentences, adding scenes or deleting dialogue to make the book better.
I use beta readers, who I send out all my work to after Ive edited it multiple times, and then use their feedback to try to make it better still.



Last is an actual editor.


About the Author-
Theresa M Jones is just a regular small town, Texas girl, who loves reading, writing and playing with tech gadgets. When she isn't at work fixing computers and the like, you can find her at home with her husband and two beautiful (and rambunctious) kiddos.

In her spare time- as if there ever was such a thing as "spare time" - she reads and reviews books on her book blog, and writes paranormal romance and fantasy romance novels.

Links-

1 comment:

  1. Thanks so much for posting during this tour!! :)

    ReplyDelete